2020 ASLA Honors

John Hill
26. June 2020
Image courtesy of ASLA

The American Society of Landscape Architects has announced the recipients of this year's Honors, which are selected by ASLA’s Board of Trustees and "represent the highest recognition ASLA bestows each year."

This year's Honors consist of ten awards and medals, and the induction of eight honorary members. Those are listed below, with excerpts from ASLA's announcement, where much more information on the winners can be found.

The ASLA Medal: Anne Whiston Spirn, FASLA

"Anne Whiston Spirn is the Cecil and Ida Green Distinguished Professor of Landscape Architecture and Planning at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT). The American Planning Association named her first book, The Granite Garden: Urban Nature and Human Design (1984), as one of the 100 most important books of the 20th century and credited it with launching the ecological urbanism movement."

The ASLA Design Medal: Martha Schwartz, FASLA

"Martha Schwartz is a landscape architect and artist with major interests in cities, communities, and the urban landscape. As senior partner of Martha Schwartz Partners, she has over 40 years of experience as a landscape architect, urbanist, and artist on a wide variety of projects located around the world with a variety of world-renowned architects."

Community Service Award - Individual: Glen Dake, FASLA

"Glen Dake is a landscape architect at DakeLuna Consultants and a leader in building Southern California community-designed landscapes. His design work includes the Keck Ocean Atmosphere Science Center at Scripps Institution of Oceanography, several stormwater collection facilities in the San Fernando Valley parks, and a commemoration for the historic Sleepy Lagoon."

The LaGasse Medal - Landscape Architect Professional: Dan Wenk

"Dan Wenk has proven himself a fearless champion for the wise management and conservation of our nation’s public landscapes. During his over 40 year career with the National Park Service (NPS) Dan's personal and professional commitment to the ''proper management of the nation 's public lands and the judicious use of the [country’s] natural (and cultural) resources," combined expertly with his deep understanding of the breadth and depth of landscape architecture, comprised the basis for all of his work."

The LaGasse Medal - Non-Landscape Architect Professional: Tom O'Rourke

"Educating professionals in the Parks and Recreation field has always been a significant part of Tom’s work. Tom previously served as the Executive Director of The Charleston County Park and Recreation Commission from 2001-2019, leading the agency through the largest capital project, budget, and attendance growth in the agency’s history."

The Jot D. Carpenter Teaching Medal: Stephanie Rolley, FASLA

"Visualizing possibilities, in communities and organizations, shapes Stephanie Rolley’s contributions to landscape architecture. She works across scales and boundaries to connect people and ideas, shaping places and possibilities. Earning a BLA from Kansas State and MCP from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, she practiced professionally before dedicating her career to teaching."

The Landscape Architecture Firm Award: James Corner Field Operations

"Founded in 1999, James Corner Field Operations is a leading-edge landscape architecture and urban design practice based in New York City, with offices in San Francisco, Philadelphia, and Shenzhen. Field Operations is renowned for strong contemporary design across a variety of project types and scales, from large urban districts, master plans and complex planning sites, to small well-crafted, detailed design projects."

The Medal of Excellence: Paul Busse

"After graduating from The Ohio State University in 1972 with a Bachelor of Science in Landscape Architecture, Paul G. Busse formed his own company specializing in creative outdoor living spaces. By 1984, he officially added garden railroads to his company’s repertoire, and in 1991 he formed Applied Imagination."

The Olmsted Medal: The Garden Conservancy

"The Garden Conservancy's mission is to preserve, share, and celebrate America's gardens and diverse gardening traditions for the education and inspiration of the public. It champions the vital role gardens play in American history, culture, and quality of life. The Conservancy partners with gardeners, community organizations, horticulturists and garden professionals, designers, and historians across America to preserve outstanding gardens."

Emerging Professional Medal: Diana Fernandez Bibeau, ASLA

"Diana is a proven thinker, collaborator, and leader who teams effortlessly with architects, planners, urban designers, ecologists, and civil engineers to design equitable and sustainable places. Her experience spans a broad range of projects, from planning to built work. She provides critical thought and design leadership for [Sasaki's] landscape and planning practice in the Urban Studio."

Honorary Memberships:

  • Vida Germano
  • Nancy Goldenberg
  • Briana Hensold
  • Zachary Chrisco
  • U.S. Senator Chris Murphy
  • Judith Nitsch
  • Anne Hawley
  • State Representative Kirkman Finlay, III (SC)

Related articles

Other articles in this category