Finalists for Asia Edition of YTAA Announced

John Hill
23. September 2020
Image courtesy of YTAA

The inaugural Asia Edition of YTAA asked schools of architecture, landscape architecture, and urban design in China, India, Japan, and South Korea — the four strategic partners of the European Union in Asia — to participate, submitting the best projects by recent graduates. In total, 139 projects were submitted by 190 students from 61 schools. The jury* initially selected 22 shortlisted projects and then nine finalists; the latter are listed below but both finalists and shortlisted projects can be found on our dedicated YTAA Asia Edition page.

The three winners of YTAA 2020 Asia Edition will be announced on October 5 during YTAA 2020 Day, which also coincides with World Architecture Day and World Habitat Day. An exhibition of the YTAA and YTAA Asia Edition projects will open on May 22, 2021, at the European Cultural Centre - Palazzo Mora in Venice. An award ceremony and debate will take place in Venice in June 2021.

The 9 finalists, listed left to right, top to bottom per above image:

*The members of the YTAA 2020 Asia Edition jury, left to right in above photo:​

  • Momoyo Kaijima (Chair), Principal of Atelier Bow-Wow, Tokyo, Japan
  • Minsuk Cho, Architect, founder of Mass Studies, Seoul
  • Chitra Vishwanath, Principal Architect and Managing Director of BIOME, Bengaluru
  • Li Xiangning, Deputy Dean, College of Architecture & Urban Planning, Tongji University, Shanghai
  • Eduard Kögel, Berlin based architect member of the Scientific Committee of ABE Journal and member of Advisory Board of the Journal of Chinese Architectural History at Qinghua University in Beijing

YTAA is organized by the Fundació Mies van der Rohe with the support of the Creative Europe program of the European Union, in collaboration with the European Association for Architectural Education (EAAE) and the Architects' Council of Europe (ACE-CAE); World-Architects as founding partner; the European Cultural Centre as a partner in Venice; the sponsorship of Jung, Jansen and Regent; and the support of USM.

Other articles in this category